The 2019 Tanner and Tauranga Cups will be at Evans Bay YMBC, Wellington,   January 2019.
2019 Event Website 




The Tanner Cup

The Tanner Cup was first presented by Mr George Tanner, of Wellington as an Interprovincial Chamnpionship for under 16 year olds. Each Region around New Zealand is entitled to select a representitive. Until 2016 , there was just one Rep per region, but from 2017 a system was introduced whereby several sailors could be selected, the numbers based on a sliding scale dependant on the number of trial entrants.  At the National Championship event held each year, the Tanner Cup Regatta is held first, followed by the Tauranga Cup 


The Tanner Cup

Gisborne Cup - Runner Up
Presented 1961 by HH Baker Esq.

The Otago Cup - Third PLace

Tanner Cup Engraving

A  P Class tradition is that the winner of each race is presented with a Bullet Trophy. This was the version presented by the Bay of Islands Yacht Club at the 2016 Tanner and Tauranga Cups.  



The Tauranga Cup

The Tauranga Cup was presented by Mrs LB Mellish in 1940.  It was for Interprovincial competition in the 7 Foot Tauranga Class (later to be come the P Class). Historically it was raced for by 1 selected skipper from each Yacht Club. In 1986 it became an open competition. 

Tauranga Cup

Memorial Cup - Runner Up
Presented 1963 by WD Cogswell

Carter Cup - 3rd Place
Presented 1954 by Percy Carter

The Colin Smith Trophy for the first sailor from the Host Club


Naomi James Challenge Trophy - First Girl

Bruce Farr & Associates Trophy for Youngest in the Top 10

Craig Monk Trophy for 1st over 55kg





Tanner and Tauranga Cup Regatta Results
Year Venue Tanner
 2018  Kohimaramara
 2017  Plimmerton 
 2016 Bay of Islands  
 2015 Takapuna 
 2014 Tauranga
 2013 Nelson   1st Race Result (No Series - weather)
 2012 Murrays Bay 
 2011 Napier   
 2010 Naval Point
 2009 Whangarei 
 2008 Torbay     
 2007 Nelson 
 2006  New Plymouth
 2005 Tauranga   (Top 20)
 2003 Murrays Bay 
 2002 Heretaunga 
 2001 Otago 
 2000 Torbay    
 1999 Tauranga  Analysis     Entry List
 1998  Napier 
 1997 Canterbury  Trophy Winners Invitation Race
 1996 Murrays Bay 
 1995 Paremata
 1994 Nelson   
 1993 New Plymouth   
 1992 Sandspit   
 1991 Dunedin
 1990 Worser Bay  
 1989 Napier  
 1988 Nelson   
 1987  Kohimaramara
 1986   (Top 10)
 1985 Bluff  Trophy Winners   
 1984 Tauranga
 1983  Murrays Bay  
 1982 Timaru  
 1981 Plimmerton    
 1979 Dunedin  
 1977 Murrays Bay (Top 16)
 1971 CYMBC   
 1965 Kohimaramara   




Thanks to Gun Caundle, Amy Mulcahy(nee Waring), John Bullot and Jenny Egnot for helping track down these results.  If you can help furnish any missing results, please send photo or pdf to

Click this for a record of all the Tanner and Tauranga trophy winners since they were first presented.  Note that up until 1980 (?), the Tauranga Cup was an Interclub competition - one boat per club, though often sailors that missed their clubs nomination would sail for Clubs that had no P's.   Fleet sizes jumped up considerably after this when it became an open competition. 




The Mighty P Class - a history by Gun Caundle



1989 was the first year a single club (Murrays Bay) won the triple - Tanner, Tauranga and Naomi James Cups

The Girls of the 1983 Tauranga Cup

The Tanner Cup Representitives - Murrays Bay 1983

Tauranga Cup sailors of 1983 - Murrays Bay

Sandspit Yacht Club has framed the Boat Ribbons from the 1992 contest - each skipper used to take a bunch of ribbons to the contest for trading.





2012 P Nationals at Murrays Bay
Tauranga Cup Race reports & pictures from
Tanner Cup round up
: ( from
More from 

Congratulations once again to Isaac McHardie (Hamilton Yacht Club) on a very well deserved victory in the Tauranga Cup. He was kept honest throughout the regatta by George Gautry (Muritai Yacht Club) and Jayvee Buchanan (Charteris Bay Yacht Club). The regatta was sailed in a variety of conditions with a little bit of something to suit everyone. The sailors had a great time and are looking forward to the next event for the mighty P-class.

Congratulations to Isaac McHardie (Waikato-Thames) who successfully defended the Tanner Cup today.  After being locked almost neck and neck with Nick-Egnot Johnson (North Harbour) overnight, Isaac put a 3rd and a 1st (his third from six races) on the board to take a clear 1st place overall with Jayvee Buchanan (Canterbury) edging past Nick by the barest of margins to take 2nd place by 1 point

Report from Day Two (via P-class website)


 If you can contribute any further information to our P Class history, please email to


Return to P Class Home Page